July 30, 2011

Gay, Howard Honors Passed Out

Filed under: General News — gerry @ 10:26 pm

091.JPG   0731.JPG Beth Thompson (left photo) receives the Hazel Gay Award from Doyle Blasingame. Elaine Howard (center right photo) congradulates Betty Smith (left) and Martha Shaw, co-winners of the first Ken Howard’s Spirit Award.

A time-honored award and a brand new one highlighted the annual Athletes Banquet which marked the official end to the 2011 Northwest Louisiana District Senior Olympics.

The Hazel Gay Award, named for the leader of the effort to restart the NW games in 1996 and over the years considered the top honor in the district, went to Beth Thompson. It symbolizes a commitment to the betterment of the games through participation and involvement.

The newest award, named the Ken Howard’s Spirit Award, honors the way in which the late Ken Howard embraced the games, with an infectuous enjoyment of all aspects of competition and with a willingness to encourage others.   Martha Shaw and Betty Smith were co-winners and Elaine Howard, wife of the late competitor, presented them with duplicate trophies.

Betty Dark and Les Brossett were selected female and male athlete of the year. Susan Berry won the Volunteer of the Year designation and Marilyn Hainey was named Most Valuable Player by district coordinator Doyle Blasingame.

The Distinguished Service Award went to Paul Murray, owner of Shooters USA, for his assistance to the district in conducting the marksmanship competition.

Powered by WordPress